5/20/11

When I was at Great Meadows, there were quite a few great blue herons on the refuge. I suspected it was because their chicks had hatched and they were hunting more because they had more mouths to feed. When I got to the rookery I saw that indeed there were a number of great blue heron nests with chicks in them.

I took a lot of photos of the heron chicks so I divided them into five parts. I mostly photographed the activity in two adjacent nests. Part I shows the chicks in the nest on the right. Part II shows the chicks in the nest on the left. Part III has photos that show chicks visible in both nests at the same time. Part IV shows the nest on the right when an adult arrives and then the other adult leaves. Part V shows the nest on the left when the adult there departs, leaving the chicks by themselves.

There are two posts of a great blue heron fishing at Great Meadows. The second post shows the bird catching a fish.

Leave a Reply

